© 2023 WCLK
Atlanta's Jazz Station--Classic, Cool, Contemporary
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Jazz 91.9 WCLK | Membership Matters

Ragan Whiteside, Boney James, The Baylor Project, Adam Blackstone, Samara Joy and more up for NAACP Image Awards

ragan whiteside .jpeg

The NAACP unveiled its nominees for "NAACP Image Awards" today and WCLK's very own Ragan Whiteside picked up a nod for Outstanding Jazz Album - Instrumental.

"I am still in shock," said Ragan on her Instagram page. "My latest album, THRILL RIDE was nominated for an #naacpimageaward !!! #grateful." The project includes the smash hit "Off The Cuff," the Stevie Wonder classic, "Don't You Worry 'bout a Thing," and "Full Court Press."

Joining Ragan in that category are Boney James for Detour, Henry Franklin for Jazz Is Dead 014, Kaelin Ellis for The Funk Will Prevail and Javon Jackson for The Gospel According to Nikki Giovanni.

The nominees for Outstanding Jazz Album - Vocal include Adam Blackstone for Legacy, Samara Joy for Linger Awhile, Aimée Allen for Love and the Catalyst, Terri Lyne Carrington for New Standards Vol. 1 and The Baylor Project for The Evening: Live at Apparatus. Blackstone's Legacy also received a nomination for Outstanding New Artist.

“This year’s nominees have conveyed a wide range of authentic stories and diverse experiences that have resonated with many in our community, and we’re proud to recognize their outstanding achievements and performances,” said Derrick Johnson, President and CEO of the NAACP.

Click here to see the full list of nominees.