© 2024 WCLK
Atlanta's Jazz Station--Classic, Cool, Contemporary
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Jazz 91.9 WCLK | Membership Matters

National Black Radio Hall of Fame to Induct WCLK's David C. Linton

CONGRATULATIONS goes out to our very own Program Director David C. Linton. The former music executive is one of the many media and entertainment luminaires who will be inducted into this year's National Black Radio Hall of Fame.

According to the press release the event will be an "Evening To Remember" and will take place later on this year on October 7 in Atlanta, GA. Linton will be receiving the coveted Broadcasters Chairman’s Leadership Award.

"l have been blessed to have a wonderful career in both radio & records (Music) but those who really know me, know radio has always been my first love," said Linton in a statement. "I'm really humbled to be selected for induction into the National Black Radio Hall of Fame with both my colleagues and mentors. It really doesn't get much better than this. I'm especially , honored to receive the Broadcast Chairman's Award for Leadership. For once I'm really, speechless."

As a visionary, Linton started and served as General Manager at WRVS/Elizabeth City State University and programmed Shaw University's WSHA to record setting ratings. Linton enjoyed a highly successful career as a senior level music executive at such famed companies as Warner Bros, Island, Arista and Capitol Records where he served as Sr. Vice President Promotions/Marketing. He has worked with such diverse artists as Quincy Jones, Fourplay, Joe Sample, Ray Charles, Rachelle Ferrell, and Prince. Linton is no stranger to Atlanta as he played a key role in the careers of Toni Braxton, Usher, Outkast, and TLC— all signed to Atlanta's iconic LaFace Records.

Linton joined the WCLK family in 2018 and has helped the station achieve record-setting ratings and expanded its listening audience. He's enhanced the station's weekend line up by developing Saturdays with Ragan Whiteside and adding producer Bob Baldwin's Nu Urban Jazz Loungeto the Saturday afternoon of programming. He reshuffled the Sunday Jazz offerings to provide a unique Mainstream Jazz listening experience on Sundays including the addition of Mainstream and Modern hosted by Rob Maynard. He most recently catapulted the station's arts and entertainment program, UPFRONT/Inside the Entertainment Industry with Ray Cornelius to two nationally syndicated platforms: SiriusXM HBCU Channel 142 and the African American Public Radio Consortium (AAPRC).

Check out the full list of NBRHF 2023 Inductees below:

Talented Sisters of Radio – Terri Avery, Monica May, Denise Williams
Talented Brothers of Radio – Ray Boyd, Marvin Ross, Frank Ski
Gospel Radio Personality – Erica Campbell, Reggie Gay, Melvin Jones
African American Station Owner – Sheila Brown, Mike Carter
Radio Station Promotions – Christine Cunningham
Record Pool Distributors – TJ’s DJ’s, Franchise Record Pool
Talk Radio Personality – Jeff Foxx, Juandolyn Stokes
Community Service Industry Award – Chris “Ludacris” Bridges
Hip Hop Radio Personality Award – Big Tigger
House Music Pioneer Award – DJ Fast Eddie
Talented Sisters of Blues Radio Award – Bunny “Bubbling” Brown Sugar
Talented Brothers of Blues Radio Award – Tom Davis Dr. Love
Radio Music Career Artist of the year – Gladys Knight and the Pips
Lifetime Media Achievement Award – Tom Joyner
The Broadcasters Chairman’s Leadership Award – David Linton
The Posthumous Award – Doug Banks, Mayme and Dave Bondu, Paul E.X. Brown, Leonard Tippy Calloway, Frankie Crocker, Charles Evers, Wayman “Slack” Johnson, Rod “Dr. Jockenstine” King, James “Alley Pat” Patrick, Chico Renfroe, Sr., Joe “Butterball” Tamburro, Larry L. Williams

The Original 13 Pioneer Award Inductees – Terry Bello, Earl Boston, Marcus “Doc Feelgood” Boyd, Steve Crumbley, Bruce Demps, Kevin Koolin Fox, Uvee Hayes, John H. “Little Daddy” Hill, III, Patty Jackson, Charles Mitchell, BJ Murphy, Sharon Seay, Reec Swiney, Art Terrell

Special Induction Recognition will be given to John Long of the Georgia Radio Hall of Fame.